INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHO File No. S3/0302/ABLOS

CIRCULAR LETTER 15/2019 11 March 2019

#### IHO-IAG ADVISORY BOARD ON TECHNICAL ASPECTS OF THE LAW OF THE SEA (ABLOS) IHO REPRESENTATIVES

Reference: IHO CL 58/2018 dated 16 November - *IHO-IAG Advisory Board on Technical Aspects of the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) - IHO Representatives* 

Dear Hydrographer,

1. With reference to the above, the IHO Secretariat informed Member States that two positions had become vacant on the IHO-IAG Advisory Board on Technical Aspects of the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) following the completion of the second term of Mr John Brown (UK) and retirement of Mr Shin Tani (Japan). In response to the above reference, the IHO Secretariat has received five nominations to fill the vacant IHO positions on the ABLOS. The five nominations were:

Grant Boyes (Australia) Peush Pawsey (India) Najhan Md Said (Malaysia) Sunday Daniel Atakpa (Nigeria) Fiona Bloor (United Kingdom)

2. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to see a significant interest in the ABLOS and expresses its gratitude to the Member States who all nominated suitably-qualified candidates.

3. Following previous practice, the candidates' curricula vitae were reviewed thoroughly by the IHO Secretariat and the Chair of the ABLOS, Professor Niels Andersen. Taking into account the criteria for selection and relevant expertise, past and current contribution to the ABLOS, current roles and responsibilities in their national institutions and potential impact to the ABLOS and geographical distribution of the current ABLOS members, the IHO Secretariat, with the agreement of the Chair of the ABLOS, sought the consent of those Member States who provided candidates, for the selection of **Mr Grant Boyes and Miss Fiona Bloor** to fill the vacant IHO positions on the ABLOS for the period 2019-2023.

4. The IHO Secretariat is pleased to report that those five Member States, listed above, have not objected to the selections of Mr Grant Boyes and Miss Fiona Bloor.

5. Unless an objection is raised by a Member State, the selections of Mr Grant Boyes and Miss Fiona Bloor will be effective from **11 April 2019**. The new updated membership list of ABLOS, which is anticipated to be effective from 11 April 2019, is provided at Annex.

On behalf of the Secretary-General, Yours sincerely,

Abri KAMPFER Director

Hydrographic information driving marine knowledge

Copy to: IAG Executive Committee Chair, ABLOS

Annex: List of ABLOS Members as of 11 April 2019.





# Joint IAG-IHO Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea

## **MEMBERS OF ABLOS – April 2019**

#### **IHO representatives:**

#### Captain Izabel King Jeck (Vice-Chair) {July 2013 – July 2017; July 2017 – July 2021}

Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barão de Jaceguay S/N Ponta da Armação Niterói – RJ, CEP 24048-900 BRAZIL Tel: +55 21 2189 3837; Fax: +55 21 2189 3837 E-mail: izabel@marinha.mil.br; izabelkj@hotmail.com

#### Professor Hyunsoo Kim {July 2013 – July 2017; July 2017 – July 2021}

School of Law INHA University 100 Inha-ro Nam-gu, Incheon, 402-751, REPUBLIC OF KOREA Tel: 82-32-860-7924(o) Fax: 82-32-860-7914(o) E-mail: Kimhsoo@inha.ac.kr; kimhsoo@hanmail.net

#### Fiona Bloor {April 2019 – April 2023}

Law of the Sea UKHO Admiralty Way Taunton TA1 2DN UNITED KINGDOM Tel: Fax: E-mail: fiona.bloor@ukho.gov.uk; LOS@ukho.gov.uk

#### Grant Boyes {April 2019 – April 2023}

GeoScience Australia GPO Box 378 Canberra ACT 2601 AUSTRALIA Tel: +61 (0)2 6249 9137 Fax: E-mail: Grant.Boyes@ga.gov.au





# Joint IAG-IHO Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea

## IAG representatives:

#### **Dr. Marie-Françoise Lequentrec-Lalancette {March 2017 – March 2021}** Shom

Director of Research and Innovation 13 rue du Chatellier CS 92803 29228 Brest Cedex 2 FRANCE Tel: 33 (0) 2 56 31 23 85 Fax: 33 (0) 2 56 31 25 80 E-mail: marie-francoise.lalancette@shom.fr

## Professor Niels Andersen (Chair) {January 2012 – January 2016; July 2015 – July 2019}

Deputy Director DTU Space Technical University of Denmark National Space Institute Elektrovej Building 327 2800 Kgs. Lyngby DENMARK Tel: +45 4525 9783; Mobile: +45 2127 4365 E-mail: na@space.dtu.dk

### Professor Sunil Bisnath {July 2015 – July 2019}

Associate Professor - Geomatics Engineering Department of Earth and Space Science and Engineering Petrie Science and Engineering Bldg. 129 York University 4700 Keele Street Toronto Ontario M3J 1P3 CANADA Tel: +1 416 736 2100 ext 20556; Fax: +1 416 736 5817; E-mail: sbisnath@yorku.ca

## Dr Juan Carlos Báez Soto {May 2013 – May 2017; July 2015 – July 2019}

Centro Sismologico Nacional Universidad de Chile Blanco Encalada 2002 Santiago CHILE Tel: +56 43 2405246; Fax: +56 42 2405223; Mobile: +56 9 88282682 E-mail: jcbaez@dgf.uchile.cl; jcbaez@csn.uchile.cl; jcgeodesy@gmail.com





# Joint IAG-IHO Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea

## **DOALOS ex-officio representative:**

Vladimír Jareš Secretary, Commission of the Limits of the Continental Shelf Division of Ocean Affairs & the Law of the Sea (DOALOS), United Nations New York NY 10017 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Tel: +1 212 963 1234; Fax: +1 212 963 4879; E-mail: jares@un.org; doalos@un.org

## IHO Secretariat ex-officio representative:

#### **David Wyatt (Secretary)**

Assistant Director IHO 4B Quai Antoine 1er BP 445, MC98011 Monaco Cedex Principauté de MONACO. Tel : +377 93108100; Fax: +377 93108140; E-mail: adso@iho.int

## **IHO Observers**

#### **Commodore Ravi Nautiyal**

Additional Principal Director National Hydrographic Office 107-A, Rajpur Road, Dehradun Uttarakhand 248 001 INDIA Tel: +91 135 2747365; Fax: +91 135 2748373; E-mail: inho@navy.gov.in

## **Professor Clive Schofield**

Director of Research & ARC Future Fellow Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security (ANCORS), University of Wollongong NSW 2522 AUSTRALIA Tel: +61 2 4221 4446 Fax: +61 2 4221 5544 E-mail: clives@uow.edu.au; cliveschofield@yahoo.co.uk