CIRCULAR LETTER 8/2000 11 February 2000

International Maritime Prize 2000

Dear Sirs.

The IHB has received the IMO Circular Letter N° 2180 dated 6^{th} January. In this Circular Letter the IHB is requested to nominate a candidate for the International Maritime Prize 2000.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually to the person, organisation or other entity that has made the most significant contribution to IMO's work and objectives.

The IHB Directing Committee intends to propose Dr. Giuliano PATTOFATTO, who was Chairman of the IMO Maritime Safety Committee until the end of 1999. In absence of other proposals, the IHB will put forward the above-mentioned nominee.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Rear Admiral Giuseppe ANGRISANO President

Attachment 1: IMO Circular Letter N°2180 dated 6 January,2000

INTERNATIONAL MARITIME ORGANIZATION

4 ALBERT EMBANKMENT LONDON SE1 7SR

Telephone: 0171-735 7611 Fax: 0171-587 3210 Telex: 23588 IMOLDN G





Ref. A4/A/1.17(a)

Circular letter No. 2180 6 January 2000

To: IMO Members and other Governments

United Nations and specialized agencies

Intergovernmental organizations

Non-governmental organizations in consultative status

Subject: International Maritime Prize, 2000

The Secretary-General has the honour to invite nominations for candidates for the International Maritime Prize for 2000.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded each year to the person, organization or other entity adjudged by the Council to have made the most significant contribution to IMO's work and objectives. A summary of the objectives and functions of the Organization is given in annex 1 to this circular.

The Prize is to be awarded to individuals and non-governmental organizations or bodies. Governments and intergovernmental organizations and entities are not eligible.

In accordance with the decision of the Council, nominations for the Prize may be made only by:

- .1 Governments:
- .2 organizations, bodies and programmes of the United Nations system;
- .3 intergovernmental organizations with which co-operative agreements or arrangements have been established; and
- .4 non-governmental international organizations enjoying consultative status.

A list of the previous winners of the Prize is attached in annex 2 to this circular.

The winner of the Prize will be presented with a trophy at a special ceremony to be held at IMO Headquarters. The winner will also be invited to write a paper on a subject related to the Organization's objectives and work which may be published later by IMO. For this purpose, the winner of the award will be paid a stipend of US\$1,000 and, if necessary, appropriate expenses in connection with travel to IMO Headquarters.

Although the Prize is, in principle, to be awarded annually, the Council may decide not to make an award in any year if, in its opinion, no suitable candidate has been nominated in that year.

The Secretary-General would be most grateful if nominations of candidates to be considered for the 2000 Prize could be sent to him as soon as possible and, in any case, **not later than 31 December 2000.** Nominations should indicate clearly the name and designation of the authority submitting the nomination and bear an appropriate mark of authentication. A form of nomination is attached (annex 3). However, Governments and organizations may submit nominations in other forms, provided that adequate information is given to enable the Council to assess the merits of the candidates concerned.

All nominations should be addressed to:

The Secretary-General
International Maritime Organization
4 Albert Embankment
London SE1 7SR
United Kingdom

ANNEX 1

OBJECTIVES OF THE ORGANIZATION

The major objectives of the Organization are:

- .1 to provide machinery for co-operation among Governments in the field of governmental regulation and practices relating to technical matters of all kinds affecting shipping engaged in international trade; to encourage and facilitate the general adoption of the highest practicable standards in matters concerning maritime safety, efficiency of navigation and prevention and control of marine pollution from ships; and to deal with administrative and legal matters related to the purposes of the Organization;
- .2 to provide for the consideration by the Organization of any matters concerning shipping and the effect of shipping on the marine environment that may be referred to it by any organ or specialized agency of the United Nations; and
- .3 to provide for the exchange of information among Governments on matters under consideration by the Organization.

FUNCTIONS OF THE ORGANIZATION

For the achievement of its objectives, the Organization:

- .1 considers and makes recommendations upon matters within its competence that may be remitted to it by Members, the United Nations or any specialized agency of the United Nations or by any other appropriate intergovernmental organization;
- .2 provides for the drafting of conventions, agreements or other suitable instruments by convening such conferences as may be necessary and recommends the resulting instruments to Governments and to intergovernmental organizations for acceptance, implementation or enforcement as may be appropriate;
- .3 performs functions assigned to it by or under international instruments relating to maritime matters and the effect of shipping on the marine environment;
- .4 promotes measures for the effective implementation and enforcement of international standards and regulations adopted by the Organization or contained in international treaty instruments;
- .5 facilitates, as necessary, technical co-operation within the scope of the Organization, including the provision of services and other appropriate assistance to Governments, particularly those of developing countries.

ANNEX 2

PREVIOUS WINNERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL MARITIME PRIZE

1980	Mr. Modolve Hareide (Norway)
1981	Rear Admiral Rodrick Y. Edwards (United States)
1982	Mr. George Maslov (Russian Federation)
1983	Mr. Hjalmar R. Bardarson (Iceland)
1984	Mr. Shen Zhaoqi (China)
1985	Mr. Per Eriksson (Sweden)
1986	Mr. Moustafa Fawzi (Egypt)
1987	Dr. James Cowley (United Kingdom)
1988	Mr. Emil Jansen (Norway)
1989	Professor Jerzy Wojciech Doerffer (Poland)
1990	Captain Zenon N. Sdougos (Greece)
1991	Dr. C.P. Srivastava (India)
1992	Mr. Y. Sasamura (Japan)
1993	Admiral J. William Kime (United States)
1994	Mr. John S. Perrakis (Greece)
1995	Mr. Georgy G. Ivanov (Russian Federation)
1996	Mr. Torkild Reedtz Funder (Denmark)
1997	Dr. Gamal El-Din A. Mokhtar (Egypt)
1998	The International Lifeboat Federation (ILF)

1999 To be decided at the 84th session of the Council in June 2000.

ANNEX 3

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATE FOR THE INTERNATIONAL MARITIME PRIZE, 2000

THE GOVERNMENT OF
(Name of country)
OR
THE
(Name of organization)
hereby nominates
(Name and brief description of candidate)
for the International Maritime Prize, 2000.
The following statement is submitted in support of the candidature:
(to be continued on a separate sheet or sheets, if required)
For and on behalf of the Government of or
(Name of organization)
Signed: Date:
Name:
Designation:
Official seal (where appropriate):