INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHB File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 16/2005 3 February 2005

COMPOSITION OF THE JOINT IHO-IOC GUIDING COMMITTEE FOR GEBCO

References: A. IHB Circular Letter 31/2004, dated 19 May 2004 B. IHB Circular Letter 78/2004 dated 26 November 2004

Dear Hydrographer,

1. At Reference B the IHB invited MS to vote for a new member of the GEBCO Guiding Committee. The IHB would like to thank the following 41 Member States who responded: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Guatemala, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Korea Rep of, Malaysia, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America and Uruguay.

2. The votes received were as follows:

Commander Paolo LUSIANI (Italy)	34 votes
Mr Sung-ho CHOI (Rep of Korea)	7 votes

Commander LUSIANI is therefore elected as an IHO representative to the GEBCO Guiding Committee

3. The IHB congratulates Commander Lusiani on his election and wishes him a successful participation in the GEBCO Guiding Committee.

4. Details of the current membership of the GEBCO Guiding Committee is given at Annex A.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Captain Hugo GORZIGLIA Director

Copy to: Prof: Robert WHITMARSH, Permanent Secretary of GEBCO

Annex A: GEBCO Guiding Committee Membership

LIST OF IHO-IOC MEMBERS ON THE GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (February 2005)

IHO Members

- Mr. David MONAHAN (Canada), since 1985.
- Mr. Kunio YASHIMA (Japan), since 1991.
- Dr. Michael S. LOUGHRIDGE (USA), since 1998.
- IGA Etienne CAILLIAU (France), since 2003.
- Cdr Paulo LUSIANI (Italy, since 2005

IOC Members

- Dr. Gleb B. UDINTSEV (Russian Federation), since 1974.
- Dr. Robin K.H. FALCONER (New Zealand), since 1985.
- Dr. Ing. Hans-Werner SCHENKE (Germany), since 1991.
- Lic. José Luis FRIAS SALAZAR (Mexico), since 1994.
- Dr. Meirion JONES (UK), since 2003.
