INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHB File No. S1/0100

CIRCULAR LETTER 01/2009 05 January 2009

VOTING SITUATION FOR THE AMENDMENTS TO THE IHO CONVENTION AND UPDATE CONCERNING PENDING MEMBER STATES

Dear Hydrographer,

1. VOTING SITUATION FOR THE AMENDMENTS TO THE CONVENTION

According to the information provided by the External Relations Department of the Government of Monaco, to date, 20 Member State Governments (Australia, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, German, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia and UK) have formally notified their approval of the amendments to the IHO Convention, as approved at the 3rd Extraordinary International Hydrographic Conference (EIHC) in April 2005. After more than three and a half years since the approval of the amendments at the 3rd EIHC and two letters sent by the Government of Monaco through diplomatic channels, the number of Member State Governments who have approved them remains very low. This may have a negative effect on the efforts to put in place as soon as possible the new structure of the Organization, also bearing in mind that, from 1st January 2009, the Organization starts operating through the two main Committees Structure. The Directing Committee therefore urges Member States to actively follow up this matter with their Government Authorities in order to speed up the voting procedures. Furthermore, Regional Hydrographic Commissions (RHCs) are requested to examine, at their meetings, the progress of approval of the amendments to the IHO Convention by their Member States, possible problems that they may encounter and, if needed, seek the assistance of the Bureau.

2. UPDATE CONCERNING PENDING MEMBER STATES

.1 Countries whose application for membership has been approved (listed in chronological order), but who have not yet deposited their Instrument of Accession:

- MAURITANIA (application approved in February 1991)
- **BULGARIA** (application approved in April 1992)
- .2 Countries whose application for membership has not yet obtained the required approval (listed in order of date of application):
 - **CAMEROON** applied for membership in June 2004 (CL 36/2004 refers) and to date has obtained 46 approvals out of a required 48;
 - **SIERRA LEONE** applied for membership in February 2006 (CL 17/2006 refers) and to date has obtained 41 approvals out of a required 49;
 - **MONTENEGRO** applied for membership in August 2007 (CL 75/2007 refers) and to date has obtained 45 approvals out of a required 49.

HAITI applied for membership in June 2008 (CL 50/2008 refers) and to date has obtained 31 approvals out of a required 52;

Those IHO Member States, whose Governments have not yet approved the applications made by Cameroon, Sierra Leone, Montenegro and Haiti are urged to actively encourage their Government authorities to do so as soon as possible (see lists provided in Annex A).

3. I would like to take advantage of this first Circular Letter to renew the IHB's wishes to you all for a very happy, healthy, prosperous and successful New Year.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Vice Admiral Alexandros MARATOS President

Encl: Annex A

_

MEMBER STATES WHICH HAVE <u>NOT</u> YET NOTIFIED THEIR APPROVAL OF THE APPLICATIONS FOR IHO MEMBERSHIP MADE BY CAMEROON, MONTENEGRO, SIERRA LEONE AND HAITI

CAMEROON

Bahrain, Brazil, China, Colombia, Fiji, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kuwait, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nigeria, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Syria, Thailand, Tonga, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela.

HAITI

Algeria, Australia, Bahrain, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, France, Guatemala, Indonesia, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jamica, Kuwait, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, USA, Venezuela.

MONTENEGRO

Algeria, Bahrain, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Fiji, Guatemala, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Jamaica, Korea, Rep. of, Kuwait, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nigeria, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela.

SIERRA LEONE

Algeria, Australia, Bahrain, China, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, Fiji, Guatemala, Iceland, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kuwait, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nigeria, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Poland, Russia, Singapore, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, USA, Venezuela.