INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHB File No. S1/5014; S3/3030

CIRCULAR LETTER 79/2011 06 December 2011

## $27^{\rm TH}$ REGULAR SESSION OF THE IMO ASSEMBLY

Dear Hydrographer,

1 The 27<sup>th</sup> session of the IMO Assembly was held at the IMO Headquarters in London from 21 to 30 November 2011. The IHO was represented by the Vice Admiral Alexandros MARATOS and Mr. Stephen SHIPMAN. Welcoming addresses were made by Mr. Mitropoulos, IMO Secretary General, Mr. Mike Penning, United Kingdom Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department of Transport, and His Excellency Ambassador Georg Boomgaarden of Germany the outgoing President of the 26<sup>th</sup> Assembly. His Excellency Ambassador Eduardo Medina-Mora of Mexico was elected as President for the 27<sup>th</sup> Assembly. Many high standing national officials (Ministers, Deputy Ministers) from IMO Member States were present and addressed the Assembly, emphasizing the importance of the work of IMO and the support of their Countries

- 2 The Assembly established two Committees to consider:
  - 1) Administrative, Financial Legal and Technical Cooperation Matters; and
  - 2) Technical Matters.

Matters relating to the Maritime Safety Committee (MSC) were considered by Committee 2. The decisions and recommendations of Committee 2 were subsequently adopted by the Assembly in plenary. The reports of the 87<sup>th</sup>, 88<sup>th</sup> and 89<sup>th</sup> sessions of the Maritime Safety Committee were approved.

3 The Assembly adopted resolution A.1051(27) on the IMO/WMO Worldwide Met-Ocean Information and Warning Service Guidance Document. This resolution which had been prepared by the WMO, with the assistance of the IHO's WWNWS Sub-Committee and approved by COMSAR15 and MSC89, complements resolution A.706(17) on the IMO/IHO World-Wide Navigational Warning Service Guidance Document.

4 The IMO Secretary General, whilst reporting to the Assembly on the status of the IMO Convention, once again recommended that IMO Member States, who were not members of the IHO, should give favourable consideration to becoming members of the IHO. The Assembly endorsed this recommendation.

5 The Assembly endorsed the decision of the Council to appoint Mr Koji Sekimizu of Japan, currently director of the IMO Maritime Safety Division, as the next Secretary-General for a period of 4 years from 1 January 2012. The Assembly also unanimously adopted a resolution thanking the outgoing Secretary-General, Mr. Efthimios E. Mitropoulos of Greece for his long standing service to the IMO, the last 8 years of which were as Secretary-General, and appointing him Secretary-General Emeritus from 1 January 2012.

6 Admiral Maratos took the opportunity during discussion with Mr Koji Sekimizu to invite him to visit the IHB at an early opportunity after assuming the position of Secretary-General.

On behalf of the Directing Committee	
Yours sincerely,	
M	····
-++	,
$\subset$	

Vice Admiral Alexandros MARATOS President