INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHB File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 65/2013 11 November 2013

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE

NEW REPRESENTATIVE AND CONFIRMATION OF RENEWAL OF MEMBERSHIP

References:

- A. IHO CL 47/2013 dated 31 July *GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) Membership and Vacancy* - *Request for IHO Nominations*
- B. Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures of the GEBCO Guiding Committee

Dear Hydrographer,

1. The joint IHO-IOC GEBCO (General Bathymetric Chart of the Ocean) Project is led by the GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) which includes five members appointed by IHO and five members appointed by IOC. The current membership of the GGC is provided in Annex A.

2. Reference A informed Member States that a position had become vacant on the GGC due to the retirement of Dr Chris Fox (USA). The Directing Committee sought nominations for new representatives and received a well-qualified nomination from Chile. Accordingly, Captain Patricio Carrasco (Chile) has been appointed to serve as IHO representative on the IHO-IOC GEBCO Guiding Committee for the period 2013-2018.

3. The Directing Committee has also been advised that Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea), who is due to complete her five-year term as a member of the GGC in 2014, has expressed the wish to continue serving on the Committee for a further five-year term. This is allowed in accordance with the Terms of Reference of the GGC (Reference B).

4. At the recent GGC meeting held in Venice, Italy on 11 October 2013, Dr Sung received the necessary majority recommendation of the Committee to serve for an additional five-year term.

5. Taking the endorsement of the GGC into account, the Directing Committee proposes to confirm the appointment of Dr Sung as an IHO Member of the GGC for a second five-year term, unless Member States provide comments before **20 December 2013** not supporting this action.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Mustafa IPTES Director

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE

List of current GGC members:

Country - Sponsor	Name	Term Period
India - IHO	Commander Peush Pawsey	2013-2018
Italy - IHO	Commander Paolo Lusiani*	2013-2018
Japan - IHO	Mr Shin Tani - Chair	2013-2018
Rep. of Korea - IHO	Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Proposed for a second 5-year term appointment)	2009-2014 (2014-2019)
IHO - Chile	Captain Patricio Carrasco (Newly appointed)	2013-2018
Australia - IOC	Dr Bruce Goleby	2013-2018
Cameroon - IOC	Mr Ngouanet Chrétien	2013-2018
New Zealand - IOC	Dr Robin Falconer*	2013-2018
Russia - IOC	Dr Nataliya Turko*	2013-2018
Sweden - IOC	Dr Martin Jakobsson* – <i>Vice-chair</i> (Chair – SCRUM)	2013-2018

Ex officio members

IHB	Mr David Wyatt	-
IOC	Mr Osamu Miyaki	-
Chair - SCUFN	DrIng. Hans-Werner Schenke	-
Chair - TSCOM	Dr Karen Marks	-
Director - IHO DCDB	Ms Lisa Taylor	-
Secretary	Mr David Clark	-

* Members serving a second 5-year term.