# INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



# ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

**IHB File No.S3/0302** 

CIRCULAR LETTER 62/2013 06 November 2013

#### IHO-IAG ADVISORY BOARD ON THE LAW OF THE SEA

#### - CONFIRMATION OF RENEWAL OF MEMBERSHIP

#### References:

- A. ABLOS Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures
- B. IHO CL 35/2013 dated 6 June *IHO-IAG Advisory Board on Technical Aspects of the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) IHO Representatives*

#### Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. The joint IHO-IAG Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) includes four members appointed by IHO and four members appointed by IAG. The current membership of the ABLOS is indicated in Annex A.
- 2. The IHB has been advised that Mr John Brown (UK) and Mr Shin Tani (Japan), who are due to complete their four-year terms as members of the ABLOS in 2014, have expressed a wish to continue and renew their membership for a further four-year term in accordance with reference A.
- 3. At the recent 20<sup>th</sup> ABLOS Business Meeting held in Muscat, Oman, on 28 and 29 October 2013, both Mr Brown and Mr Tani received the necessary majority recommendation of the ABLOS to serve for an additional four-year term. The Directing Committee proposes to confirm the appointment of Mr Brown and Mr Tani as IHO members of the ABLOS for a further four-year term, unless Member States provide comments before **31 December 2013** not supporting this action.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Gilles BESSERO Director

# IHO-IAG ADVISORY BOARD ON TECHNICAL ASPECTS OF THE LAW OF THE SEA COMITE CONSULTATIF OHI-AIG SUR LE DROIT DE LA MER (ABLOS)

### List of ABLOS members Liste des membres d'ABLOS

### IHO representatives - Représentants de l'OHI:

Mr. John BROWN	United Kingdom Royaume-Uni	Oct. 2012 - Oct. 2014	Vice-Chairman Vice-président
Mr. Shin TANI,	Japan - Japon	Oct. 2010 - Oct. 2014	
Cdr Izabel King JECK	Brazil - <i>Brésil</i>	Jul. 2013 - Jul. 2017	

Prof. Hyunsoo KIM Republic of Korea Jul. 2013 - Jul. 2017 *République de Corée* 

## IAG representatives - Représentant de l'AIG:

Dr. Ir. Sobar SUTISNA Indonesia - *Indonésie* Jul. 2011 - Jul. 2015

Dr Niels ANDERSEN Denmark - Danemark Jan. 2012 - Jan. 2016

Prof. Sunil BISNATH Canada Oct. 2012 - Oct. 2016 Chairman

Président

Prof. Juan Carlos BAEZ Chile - Chili May. 2013 - May. 2017

## Ex-officio members - Membres ex-officio:

UN DOALAS/ONU DAMDM: Mr. Vladimir JARES

IHB/BHI: Mr. David WYATT (Secretary - Secrétaire)

#### IHO observers - Observateurs de l'OHI

Dr. Zvonko GRZETIC Croatia - *Croatie* Cdre Ravi NAUTIYAL India - *Inde* Mr. Taisei MORISHITA Japan - *Japon* 

Cdr Sheikh Firoz AHMED Bangladesh - *Bangladesh* Prof. Clive SCHOFIELD Australia - *Australie* 

## ABLOS appointed observers - Observateurs nommés par ABLOS

Mr. Chris M. CARLETON United Kingdom - *Royaume-Uni* Capt (retd.) Luiz Carlos TORRES Brazil - *Brésil*