INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHB File No. S3/2630

CIRCULAR LETTER 50/2015 10 July 2015

GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC) – REQUEST FOR NOMINATION OF EXPERTS TO FILL VACANCIES

References:

IHO CL 65/2013 dated 11 November - *GEBCO Guiding Committee* (*GGC*) - *New Representative and Confirmation of Renewal of Membership*

B. GGC Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures

Dear Hydrographer,

A.

1. The joint IHO-IOC GEBCO (General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans) Project is led by a Guiding Committee (GGC) which includes five members appointed by IHO and five members appointed by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC). The current membership of the GGC, as reported in Reference A, is provided in Annex A.

2. The IHB has been informed that Commander Paolo C. F. Lusiani (Italy) has indicated his intention to step down from the GGC after ten years of valuable service as an IHO representative.

3. The GGC Chairman, Mr Shin Tani (Japan), has reported that Captain Peush Pawsey (India) has not participated in two consecutive meetings of the GGC (Venice, Italy in 2013 and Monaco in 2014). According to clause 1.5 of the Rules of Procedure (RoP) of the GGC, "Appointed Members who are absent from meetings over two consecutive years will normally be considered to have resigned and new nominations shall be sought". The GGC confirmed at its last meeting that RoP 1.5 should be applied to the case of Captain Pawsey.

4. Member States are therefore requested to consider nominating suitable experts to fill the resulting two vacancies, by completing the nomination form at Annex B and returning it to the IHB **by 10 September 2015**.

5. Criteria for the selection of GGC Members include:

- Significant knowledge in bathymetry, especially in state of the art ocean surveying and mapping;
- Experience in undersea topographic terrain analysis;
- Familiarity in the field of international marine history;
- Basic awareness in the marine Earth science disciplines.

An appropriate CV outlining the credentials and experience of the nominee should be provided in support of any proposed candidature. Please also note that the selected experts are expected to be supported and funded by their organization and to attend the next GGC meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in October 2015.

6. In those cases where Member States do not have the personnel with the requisite knowledge or experience working in their national hydrographic organizations, they may wish to consider nominating an appropriate expert from another organization in their country. This would be similar to arrangements that are in place for some of the IHO representatives on the Advisory Board on the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) and FIG-IHO-ICA International Board on Standards of Competence for Hydrographic Surveyors and Nautical Cartographers (IBSC).

7. The Directing Committee will examine the nominations received and, in liaison with the GGC Chairman, confirm the new members of the GGC, or, if required, consult the Member States to assist in the selection.

8. The Directing Committee takes this opportunity to thank Commander Paolo C. F. Lusiani, as well as the Hydrographic Office of Italy, for their valuable contribution and support of GEBCO and GGC activities.

On behalf of the Directing Committee Yours sincerely,

Mustafa IPTES Director

Annex A:Current list of GGC membersAnnex B:Nomination Form

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE

List of current GGC Members:

1.	IHO Members: Mr Shin Tani (Japan) (<i>Chair</i>)	Term Period: (2013-2018)
	Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco (Chile)	(2013-2018)
	Dr. Hyo Hyun Sung* (Republic of Korea) (2 vacancies)	(2014-2019)

2. IOC Members:

Dr. Martin Jakobsson (Sweden)* (Vice-chair, Chair of SCRUM)	(2013-2018)
Dr. Robin Falconer* (New Zealand)	(2013-2018)
Dr. Nataliya Turko* (Russia)	(2013-2018)
Mr Ngouanet Chretien (Cameroon)	(2013-2018)
Ms Marzia Rovere (Italy)	(2014-2019)

3. Ex officio Members:

Dr. Karen Marks (USA) (*Chair of TSCOM*) Dr. Hans-Werner Schenke (Germany) (*Chair of SCUFN*) Ms Lisa Taylor (USA) (*Director of IHO-DCDB*) Mr David Wyatt (IHB) Mr Osamu Miyaki (IOC) Mr David Clark (Secretary)

* Members serving a second 5-year term.

Annex B to CL 50/2015 IHB File N° S3/2630

GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE

NOMINATION FORM

(to be returned to the IHB <u>info@iho.int</u> by 10 September 2015)

Attachment: CV of nominated applicant.