INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

IHO File N° S3/2641

CIRCULAR LETTER 57/2017 02 November 2017

GEBCO SUB-COMMITTEE ON UNDERSEA FEATURE NAMES (SCUFN) VACANCIES FOR FOUR IHO REPRESENTATIVES

Reference: SCUFN Terms of Reference and Rules of Procedures (SCUFN TORs and ROPs).

Dear Hydrographer,

- 1. Following the 30th meeting of the General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO) Sub-Committee of Undersea Feature Names (SCUFN-30) that took place in Genoa, Italy, from 2 to 6 October 2017, the Secretariat of SCUFN is tasked with preparing the 'Call for vacancies' for four SCUFN Members representing the IHO as parent organization (See Reference). The current SCUFN Membership List is provided in Annex A.
- 2. Representing the IHO, Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (current Vice-Chair of SCUFN, Japan), Lic. Walter REYNOSO-PERALTA (Argentina) and Capt. Ana Angélica ALBERONI (Brazil) are coming to the end of their term (See Rule 2.1.3 in Reference) at the 31st SCUFN meeting (SCUFN-31) scheduled in October 2018. Dr Kian FADAIE (Canada), having been absent from meetings over two consecutive years, is considered as having already resigned (in application of Rule 2.5 in Reference).
- 3. Dr Hans Werner SCHENKE (current Chair of SCUFN, Germany), Dr Vaughan STAGPOOLE (New Zealand) and Dr Hyun-Chul HAN (Republic of Korea), representing the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO as the other parent organization, are also coming to the end of their term at the closure of SCUFN-31 in 2018. In addition, Prof. LIN Shaohua (China) informed the SCUFN Members at SCUFN-30 that she had to resign soon after SCUFN-30.
- 4. Article 2.1.1 of the SCUFN Rules of Procedure (see Reference) states that "The Sub-Committee shall normally consist of 12 members, preferably 6 members being appointed by IHO and 6 by IOC acting in close consultation". Art. 2.1.3 also stipulates that "Members of the Sub-Committee shall be appointed for a five-year period, renewable for one additional five-year term by the corresponding parent organization...".
- 5. Member States are therefore requested to consider nominating suitable experts to fill the above mentioned vacancies, by completing the application form provided in Annex B and returning it to the IHO Secretariat by 31st January 2018. The decisions on the appointment of new Members are planned to be made no later than at the end of March 2018.
- 6. Member States are invited to note that SCUFN-31 is planned¹ to be hosted by *Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)* in Wellington, New Zealand, in October 2018. Elections for the positions of new Chair and Vice-Chair will be conducted at the end of the SCUFN-31 meeting. It is also reminded that the selected experts are expected to be supported and funded by their organization to attend the SCUFN Meetings.

-

¹ To be confirmed.

- 7. Considering the forthcoming important turnover, and in order to ensure some continuity it should be noted that:
 - former and current SCUFN Members are entitled to apply for another mandate;
 - it is highly recommended that selected candidates and their supporting organization, consider the possibility of attending SCUFN-31.
- 8. Criteria for the selection of SCUFN Members include:
 - Profound knowledge in bathymetry, marine geomorphology, especially in the state of the art of ocean surveying and seabed mapping;
 - Experience in topographic terrain analysis;
 - Familiarity in the compound field of international marine history;
 - Basic cognizance in the marine Earth sciences;
 - Experience in international meetings in English language;
 - Balance between turnover and continuity in the SCUFN Membership.
- 9. A curriculum vitae outlining the credentials and experience of the nominee should be provided in support of any proposed candidate. The Secretary-General, in consultation with the Directors at the IHO Secretariat, will examine the nominations received and, in liaison with the SCUFN Chair, Dr HansWerner SCHENKE, will confirm the new members of the SCUFN or, if required, consult the Member States to assist in the selection.
- 10. The IHO Secretariat takes this opportunity to thank the future out-going SCUFN Members for their active, reliable and practical engagement in SCUFN activities over the many years, as well as their national supporting organizations for sponsoring them.

On behalf of the Secretary-General

Yours sincerely,

Mustafa IPTES Director

Annex A: SCUFN Membership List

Annex B: Nomination Form

Copy: Dr Hans Werner Schenke (SCUFN Chair),

Mr Julian Barbiere (IOC Secretariat), by email only.

GEBCO SUB-COMMITTEE ON UNDERSEA FEATURE NAMES (SCUFN)

Membership (October 2017)

IHO	IOC	
Dr Yasuhiko OHARA (Japan)	Dr Hans Werner SCHENKE (Chair) (Germany)	
Lic. Walter REYNOSO-PERALTA (Argentina)	Mr. Mr Félix FRÍAS IBARRA (Mexico)	
Capt. Ana Angélica ALBERONI (Brazil)	Dr Ksenia DOBROLYUBOVA	
	(Russian Federation)	
LCdr. Felipe BARRIOS (Chile)	Dr Vaughan STAGPOOLE (New Zealand)	
Dr Kian FADAIE (Canada)	Dr Hyun-Chul HAN (Republic of Korea)	
Prof. Roberta IVALDI (Italy)	Prof. LIN Shaohua (China)	

GEBCO SUB-COMMITTEE ON UNDERSEA FEATURE NAMES (SCUFN)

NOMINATION FORM

(to be returned to the IHO Secretariat <u>cl-lc@iho.int</u> by 31 January 2018)

s you type your answers	
ninate an expert to be a member of	YES or NO?
	s you type your answers ninate an expert to be a member of it your intention to participate in r 2018?

Attachment: CV of nominated applicant.