MEETING OF THE IHO FINANCE COMMITTEE Sunday 23 April 2017 Monaco IHO Secretariat SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

PRO FC-01: PROPOSAL TO ADJUST RULE 9 OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IHO FINANCE COMMITTEE.

Submitted by: Secretary-General

PROPOSAL: To adjust Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure of the IHO Finance Committee as follows:

"The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected at regular meetings of the Finance Committee. Member States represented at such meetings may participate in such elections. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected for a period of three years <u>and hold office until the end of the next</u> <u>ordinary session of the Assembly</u>".

EXPLANATORY NOTE:

According to its Rules of Procedure, the IHO Finance Committee shall hold regular meetings during ordinary sessions of the Assembly in order to consider the financial statements, budget estimates and reports on administrative matters and advise the Assembly accordingly.

Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure of the Finance Committee states:

"The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected at regular meetings of the Finance Committee. Member States represented at such meetings may participate in such elections. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected for a period of three years. The Secretary-General shall chair the opening of the regular meeting of the Finance Committee until the election of the Chair".

The Secretary-General considers that in the event that a new Chair was elected this arrangement may cause difficulties for the elected Chair to prepare for the meeting and report to the Assembly. The proposed adjustments would place the election of the Finance Committee Officers at the end of the meeting and provide for the term of their office to commence upon completion of the Assembly. This arrangement would then be very similar to the procedure that was in place prior to the introduction of the revised Convention and the new Rules of Procedure for the Finance Committee. It would also be consistent with the provision of Article 6 (g) (i) the revised Convention whereby the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Council *"hold office until the end of the next ordinary session of the Assembly"*.