GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Submitted by IHO Secretariat

SUMMARY

Executive Summary: This document provides an update on current membership of the

GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC), including current and

GGC36/9

forthcoming vacancies.

Action to be taken: 6

Related documents: GGC ToRs and ROPs; GGC36/8/1 – Secretary Roles and

Responsibilities

- 1. The current list of GEBCO Guiding Committee (GGC) members is at Annex A.
- As a result of Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco (Chile) completing his 5-year term at GGC35 and his expressed wish not to undertake a second term, the IHO appointed Mr Evert Flier (Norway) to fill the vacancy.
- 3. A further forthcoming vacancy was identified with Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea) due to complete her second 5-year term at the end of GGC36. The IHO decided to call for nominations at the same time as looking to fill the already declared vacancy created by Rear Admiral Patricio Carrasco standing down. The IHO appointed Captain Rodrigo de Souza Obino (Brazil) to fill this future vacancy from completion of GGC36. It was noted that, as current chair of SCOPE, Dr Hyo Hyun Sung would continue to serve on the GGC as an Ex-officio Member.
- 4. It should also be noted that Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy), an IOC Appointed Member, and the Secretary, as highlighted in GGC36/8/1, are due to complete their 5-year terms in 2019. Dr Marzia Rovere is eligible to serve a second 5 year term, if willing, available and recommended by the GGC to the IOC Executive-Secretary.
- 5. In addition to the above, the Secretary brings to the attention of the GGC that one IHO Appointed Member is due to complete an initial 5-year term in 2020. The GGC may wish to consider what action to take in preparation for GGC37 in 2020.
- 6. The GGC is requested to:
 - **note** the information provided; a.

- b. **inform** the IOC of the actions to be taken with respect to the GGC member whose term is ending in 2019;
- c. **consider** what action is required with respect to the member whose term ends in 2020; and
- d. **take** any other action as deemed appropriate.

IHO-IOC GEBCO GUIDING COMMITTEE (GGC)

List of GGC members – 20 May 2019

(2018-2023)

1.	IHO Appointed Members:	Term Period:
	Mr Shin Tani (Japan) (<i>Chair</i>)	(2018-2023)
	Dr Hyo Hyun Sung* (Republic of Korea)	(2014-2019)
	Dr Graham Allen (United Kingdom)	(2015-2020)
	Mr David Millar (USA)	(2018-2023)
	Mr Evert Flier (Norway)	(2019-2024)
2.	IOC Appointed Members:	
	Dr Marzia Rovere (Italy)	(2014-2019)
	Dr Johnathan Kool (Australia)	(2016-2021)
	Captain Leonid Shalnov (Russian Federation)	(2016-2021)
	Dr Martin Jakobsson (Sweden) (Vice-chair)	(2018-2023)

3. Ex-officio Members:

Dr Vicki Ferrini (USA) (Chair of SCRUM)

Lieutenant Dr Karolina Zwolak (Poland)

Mr Thierry Schmitt (France) (Chair of TSCOM)

Mr Hyun-Chul Han (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCUFN)

Dr Hyo Hyun Sung (Republic of Korea) (Chair of SCOPE)

Ms Jennifer Jencks (USA) (Director of IHO-DCDB)

4. Secretary:

Mr David Wyatt (IHO) (2015-2019)

NOTE: Members of the Secretariats of the IHO and IOC are permanent non-voting Members in the Committee.

^{*} Members serving a second 5-year term.