INTERNATIONAL HYDROGRAPHIC ORGANIZATION



ORGANISATION HYDROGRAPHIQUE INTERNATIONALE

STANDARDIZATION of NAUTICAL PUBLICATION WORKING GROUP (SNPWG)

[A Working Group of the Hydrographic Services and Standards Committee (HSSC)]

Chairman: Jens SCHRÖDER- jens.schroeder-fuerstenberg@bsh.de

FÜRSTENBERG

Vice-Chairman: Thomas LOEPER thomas.loeper@noaa.gov

Secretary: vacant

SNPWG Letter: 01/2015

To SNPWG Members Date 23 January 2015

Subject: Context Feature set revision

References: SNPWG 18/2;

http://wp12183585.server-he.de/npubwiki/wiki/index.php/File:S122-ContextFeatures.jpg

Dear SNPWG team,

Since the information was provided that neither the S-100 Edition 1 nor the forthcoming Edition 2 will support the interoperability of different products, the SNPWG discussed which context features would be needed to provide a geo-referential charted background to the MPA Product Specification. A set of context features would also be needed if the MPA products would be provided as stand-alone products and probably, on devices other than ECDIS. It was agreed that only the attributes which drive the portrayal of those context features are mandatory for this purpose.

The consideration of those context features is necessary for all NPUB Product Specification that the SNPWG is responsible for. Thus, and to avoid unnecessary duplication of work, it was decided to retain a core of context features which could be used for all NPUB Product Specifications.

Additional context features may be required by other Product Specifications such as Traffic Management or Physical Environment.

The group is invited to check the current set of MPA context features (see wiki reference) and to provide suggestions of other context features which might be useful for other NPUB Product Specifications, in particular those which are under development.

Comments, suggestions, improvements and any other contributions should be provided, at the latest, by the end of March 2015.

For this SNPWG letter the tacit approval is not applicable.

Yours sincerely,

Jens Schröder-Fürstenberg, Chairman