A.1/WP1/05

1ST SESSION OF THE IHO ASSEMBLY

Monaco, 24-28 April 2017



PROVISIONAL LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Submitted by the Secretary-General

A.1/WP1/05

PROVISIONAL LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Submitted by the Secretary General

Background

1. In accordance with the provision of the new basic documents of the IHO that entered into force on 8 November 2016, a Council must be established by the first session of the IHO Assembly. The members of the Council shall hold office until the end of the 2^{nd} ordinary session of the Assembly.

2. In accordance with Article VI (a) of the IHO Convention as amended, 30 Member States shall take seats in the Council as long as the number of Member States is not greater than 120.

3. The procedure for determining the composition of the Council are set out in Article 16 of the General Regulations. This article requires in particular that:

- (d) Before the end of the ordinary session the Secretary-General shall submit the full list of Council members to the Assembly.
- (e) The Assembly shall review and endorse the selection process to ensure that these principles have been correctly followed.

Selection process

4. A first set of 20 seats shall be allocated on a regional basis. In accordance with the principles of the guidance agreed through Decision 6 of the 5th Extraordinary International Hydrographic Conference, IHO Circular Letter (CL) 46/2016 dated 21 September invited Member States which were full members of more than one Regional Hydrographic Commission (RHC) to indicate in which RHC they wished to be counted for the purpose of enabling the Secretary-General to determine the number of seats on the Council allocated to each RHC. The outcome was reported in IHO CL 63/2016 dated 5 December 2016 which invited the Chairs of RHCs to provide the identity of the State(s) that will occupy the seat(s) allocated to their RHC.

5. In accordance with sub-paragraph (b) (vi) of Article 16 of the General Regulations, the Secretary-General ensured that the outcome was not affected by any new States becoming members of the IHO up to 3 months before the beginning of the 1^{st} session of the Assembly, that is before 23 January 2017.

6. Table 1 provides the resultant distribution of the 20 seats on the Council allocated to the RHCs, those States that were eligible to be selected to occupy those seats and the identity of the State(s) selected to occupy the seat(s) allocated to each RHC.

7. The remaining 10 seats on the IHO Council are allocated to those Member States that have not already been selected to occupy a seat allocated on a regional basis. These 10 seats are allocated on the basis of hydrographic interest, which under the current Regulation is defined as national flag tonnage. In accordance with Article 6 (a) of the Financial Regulation, the Secretary-General referred to the table of tonnages that had entered into force on 1 January 2017 (see document A.1/E/02) and approached each Member State on the list which has not already been selected to occupy a seat by the RHCs, in turn and in order of highest tonnage, inviting the State to declare if it wished to take up one of the 10 seats. The process continued until all 10 seats were filled.

Table 1

Number of seats on the IHO Council distributed on a regional basis, the Member States eligible to occupy those seats and the States selected by the RHC to occupy the seats

Regional Hydrographic Commission (RHC)	Member States (MS) eligible to occupy one of the 20 Council seat(s) allocated to the RHCs (MS that are Members of more than one RHC shown in bold) (MS whose rights were suspended at the time of the allocation shown in <i>strikethrough</i>)	Number of MS to be counted in the calculation of the number of seats on a proportional basis	Number of Council seats allocated to the RHC	MS selected by the RHC to occupy the Council seat(s) allocated to the RHC
MBSHC	Algeria, Croatia, Cyprus, France , Georgia, Greece, Italy, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, <i>Serbia</i> , Slovenia, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine	15	3	France Italy Turkey
EAHC	Brunei Darussalam, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Indonesia, Japan, Korea (Rep of), Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand , <i>Viet Nam</i>	11	2	Indonesia Malaysia
MACHC	Brazil , <i>Dominican Republic</i> , Cuba, Guatemala, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands , Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, UK , Venezuela	10	2	Brazil Netherlands
RSAHC	Bahrain, Iran (Islamic Rep. of), Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan , Qatar, Saudi Arabia , United Arab Emirates	8	2	Iran (Islamic Rep. of) Pakistan
EAtHC	<i>Cameroon</i> , <i>Democratic Republic</i> of the Congo, Morocco , Nigeria, Portugal, Spain	4	1	Spain
NIOHC	Bangladesh, Egypt , India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka	5	1	India
SWPHC	Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Tonga	5	1	Australia
NSHC	Belgium, Denmark , Germany , Iceland , Ireland	5	1	Germany
BSHC	Estonia, Finland , Latvia, Poland	4	1	Finland
SEPRHC	Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru	4	1	Colombia
ARHC	Norway, Russian Federation, USA	3	1	Russian Federation
SAIHC	Mauritius, Mozambique, South Africa	3	1	South Africa
SWAtHC	Argentina, Uruguay	2	1	Uruguay
NHC	Sweden	1	1	Sweden
USCHC	Canada	1	1	Canada
	Total	82	20	

8. Table 2 provides the resultant distribution of the 10 seats on the Council allocated on the basis of hydrographic interests (tonnage).

Table of tonnages(based on table in force since 1 January 2017)		Wish to take up a seat (YES/NO)
1	China	YES (letter 21 April)
	Malta	NO (letter 8 March)
2	Singapore	YES (email 9 March)
3	United Kingdom	YES (letter 1 March)
4	Greece	YES (letter 8 March)
5	Republic of Korea	YES (letter 3 March)
6	United States of America	YES (letter 6 March)
7	Cyprus	YES (letter 7 March)
8	Japan	YES (letter 3 March)
	Italy	(MBSHC)
9	Norway	YES (letter 7 March)
10	Denmark	YES (email 15 March)

 Table 2

 Seats allocated on the basis of hydrographic interests (tonnage)

9. Table 3 provides the resultant composition of the Council for the period 2017-2020 (until the end of the 2^{nd} session of the Assembly), based on the procedure described above and the principles of the guidance agreed through Decision 6 of the 5^{th} Extraordinary International Hydrographic Conference.

Table 3Composition of the Council 2017-2020

No	Member State	Selected by:
1	Australia	SWPHC
2	Brazil	MACHC
3	Canada	USCHC
4	Colombia	SEPRHC
5	Finland	BSHC
6	France	MBSHC
7	Germany	NSHC
8	India	NIOHC
9	Indonesia	EAHC
10	Iran (Islamic Rep. of)	RSAHC
11	Italy	MBSHC
12	Malaysia	EAHC
13	Netherlands	MACHC
14	Pakistan	RSAHC
15	Russian Federation	ARHC
16	South Africa	SAIHC

No	Member State	Selected by:
17	Spain	EAtHC
18	Sweden	NHC
19	Turkey	MBSHC
20	Uruguay	SWAtHC
21	China	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
22	Singapore	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
23	United Kingdom	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
24	Greece	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
25	Republic of Korea	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
26	United States of America	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
27	Cyprus	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
28	Japan	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
29	Norway	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)
30	Denmark	Hydrographic Interest (tonnage)

Action required of the Assembly

- 10. The Assembly is invited to:
 - a. review and endorse the selection process for the Council, and
 - b. approve the composition of the Council set out in table 3 for the period 2017-2020 (until the 2nd session of the Assembly).