NIOHC15-08



15th NORTH INDIAN OCEAN HYDROGRAPHIC COMMISSION MEETING

Muscat, Oman 16 - 18 March 2015

International Maritime Organisation (IMO) Member State Audit Scheme

The NIOHC is informing Member States of the changes to the IMO member state audit scheme as adopted by the IMO 26th Assembly.

Flag states have a responsibility as members of the IMO to comply with the Organization's Conventions to which they are party. The key obligations of flag states are set out in the Code for the Implementation of Mandatory IMO Instruments. Compliance with these obligations is currently tested by voluntary IMO Member State Audits.

IMO Member State Audit Scheme

"According to the plan adopted by the Assembly through resolution A.1018 (26), the IMO Member State Audit Scheme would be phased in as an institutionalized, mandatory scheme, through the introduction of appropriate requirements in the relevant mandatory IMO instruments. Amendments to these instruments would be adopted in 2013, for entry into force in January 2015. A resolution on the Framework and Procedures for the Scheme would also be adopted by the IMO Assembly in 2013, while preparatory work for the commencement of an institutionalized scheme would be carried out during 2014.

The Assembly urged Member States that have not yet volunteered for audits under the current, voluntary scheme to do so, so that lessons can continue to be learned from it. It also requested the Secretary-General to take action, within the Organization's Integrated Technical Co-operation Programme, to assist Member States to participate in the Scheme and with building capacity to address related needs.

The Assembly also adopted amendments to the Code for the Implementation of Mandatory IMO Instruments, 2007, which serves as the audit standard for the Voluntary IMO Member State Audit Scheme. The amendments update the Code, to take into account amendments to mandatory IMO instruments that have entered into force or become effective since it was last revised, in 2007".

Following on from these resolutions the IMO has issued Circular 112/INF.3 detailing the schedule of mandatory audits for IMO member states.

C112/INF.3 is attached for information.



COUNCIL 112th session Agenda item 5 C 112/INF.3 16 June 2014 ENGLISH ONLY

IMO MEMBER STATE AUDIT SCHEME

Audit schedule for the mandatory Scheme

Note by the Secretary-General

SUMMARY

Executive summary: This document provides the audit schedule for implementation of

audits under the mandatory Scheme as developed by the Secretary-General in accordance with the set of principles contained in paragraph 4.1.1 of the Procedures for the IMO

Member States audit (resolution A.1067(28), annex, part II)

Strategic direction: No related provisions

High-level action: No related provisions

Planned output: No related provisions

Action to be taken: Paragraph 3

Related documents: resolution A.1067(28), C 112/5/1

- In accordance with the set of principles contained in paragraph 4.1.1 of the Procedures for the IMO Member States audit (resolution A.1067(28), annex, part II), the Secretary-General has determined the audit schedule for implementation of audits under the mandatory Scheme, based on a random drawing of the names of Member States and an Associate Member who have not completed an audit under the voluntary Scheme, followed by those Member States and Associate Members that have completed a voluntary audit in the order in which they were audited. The audit schedule, which is set out in the annex, presents the order of audits chronologically.
- 2 Based on the overall audit schedule, audits under the mandatory Scheme will be conducted at periodic intervals not exceeding seven years.

Action requested of the Council

3 The Council is requested to note the information contained in this document and its annex.



ANNEX

THE AUDIT SCHEDULE

1	Guinea-Bissau	47	Monaco
2	Guinea	48	Madagascar
3	Côte d'Ivoire	49	Vanuatu
4	Bosnia and Herzegovina	50	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
5	Togo	51	Djibouti
6	Mauritania	52	Myanmar
7	Qatar	53	Guyana
8	Georgia	54	Suriname
9	Nepal	55	Ukraine
10	Serbia	56	Barbados
11	United Arab Emirates	57	Fiji
12	Albania	58	Brunei Darussalam
13	Angola	59	Samoa
	Seychelles	60	Cook Islands
15	Nigeria	61	Colombia
16	Senegal	62	Saint Lucia
17	Sri Lanka	63	Lebanon
18	Paraguay	64	Turkmenistan
19	Papua New Guinea		Indonesia
20	Jordan		Austria
21	Somalia	67	Kenya
	Egypt	68	Sudan
23	Yemen		Grenada
24	Hungary		Sao Tome and Principe
25	Mongolia		Equatorial Guinea
26	Ghana		Costa Rica
27	Kazakhstan	73	Sierra Leone
28	Macao, China ¹	_	San Marino
29	Gambia		Congo
30	Kiribati		Eritrea
31	Bahrain		Viet Nam
	Oman	78	Portugal
33	Gabon	79	Algeria
34	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)	80	United Republic of Tanzania
	Democratic Republic of the Congo	81	Tuvalu
36	Azerbaijan		Comoros
	Cape Verde		Uganda
38	Nicaragua		Croatia
39	Iraq	85	Zimbabwe
40	El Salvador	86	Iceland
41	Czech Republic	87	Tonga
42	Cambodia	88	Solomon Islands
43	Slovakia	89	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
43 44	Cuba	90	Libya
45	Bangladesh	90	Saudi Arabia
46	Trinidad and Tobago	91	The former Yugoslav Republic of
40	Tillidad alid Tobago	32	Manadania

Macedonia

_

¹ Associate Member

02	Mozambiqua	405	Lucemakacum
93 94	Mozambique Kuwait	135	· ·
9 4 95	Dominica	136	0 1
96	Montenegro	137	Bulgaria
97	Syrian Arab Republic	138	Panama
98	Guatemala	139	Romania
99	Haiti	140	Malaysia
100	Palau	141	Argentina
101	Malawi	142	Brazil
102	Maldives	143	Russian Federation
103	Mauritius	144	France
104	Benin	145	Ecuador
105	Cameroon	146	Philippines
106 107	Pakistan Republic of Moldova	147	China
107	Dominican Republic	148	Hong Kong, China ¹
109	Ethiopia	149	Poland
	Namibia	150	Ireland
111	Democratic People's Republic of	151	India
	Korea	152	Latvia
112	Timor-Leste	153	Estonia
113	Denmark	154	Mexico
114	Cyprus	155	Bahamas
115	United Kingdom	156	Jamaica
116	Spain	157	Lithuania
117	Marshall Islands	158	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
118	Sweden	159	Malta
119	Japan	160	Faroes ¹
120	Liberia	161	Finland
121	Chile	162	Honduras
122	Republic of Korea	163	Antigua and Barbuda
123	Greece	164	Israel
124	Canada	165	Peru
125	New Zealand	166	Switzerland
126	Netherlands	167	Slovenia
127	Italy	168	Morocco
128	Thailand	169	Turkey
129	Norway	170	Belize
130	Germany	171	Tunisia
131	South Africa	172	Saint Kitts and Nevis
132	United States	173	Belgium
133	Uruguay	175	Doigiani
134	Australia		
