

NIOHC CL 05/2017

To: Members of the IHO North Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (NIOHC)

Subject: Result of the Voting Procedure for NIOHC allocated council seat

References:

A- NIOHC Statutes-Annex A "Procedure for the Designation of NIOHC Representatives to the IHO Council" along with the flowchart (Appendix 1) and example of voting paper (Appendix 2)

B- NIOHC CL 03/2017- Selection Process for NIOHC allocated council seat

C-NIOHC CL 04/2017- Voting Procedure for NIOHC allocated council seat

D- IHO circular letter (63/2016)

Dear Colleagues,

- 1- At the 16th NIOHC meeting in Chittagong (Bangladesh), Member states revised and accepted a proposal that was presented by the IHO director for "Procedure for the Designation of NIOHC Representatives to the IHO Council". The procedure was added as "Annex A" to the Statutes of the NIOHC. (See reference A)
- 2-NIOHC member states, eligible for selection (See reference D), were all invited by the chairman to indicate if they wished to be considered as candidates for selection (See reference B). Only two member states, namely **Egypt** and **India**, applied as candidates for selection to the NIOHC allocated council seat (See reference C).
- 3-All NIOHC full member states (Nine member states) were invited to vote by correspondence (See reference C).
- 4-According to the timeline (see reference C), I would now like to inform you about the result of the voting procedure for the selection of one of the two applying candidates for the NIOHC allocated council seat.
- 5- I received altogether eight (8) votes out of nine (9) NIOHC full Member States, who are allowed to vote. Five (5) of the received votes are in favor of India. Three (3) of the received votes are in favor of Egypt. The majority selects India to occupy the IHO Council seat allocated to NIOHC for the upcoming three years term.

6- The selection procedure is now completed and I forward my congratulations to India herewith. I will forward this letter to the IHO Secretariat for information together with copies of the individual voting papers of the NIOHC Member States for the IHO depository.

ا مها لها

Commander Ahmed Hafez Chairman of NIOHC

E-mail: hydro@enhd.gov.eg